Public sector group set to strike


More than 12,000 members who work outside mainstream civil service groups are on strike from tomorrow.

Our members, who work for parliamentary bodies, public bodies (NDPBs), government commissions, regulatory bodies, and non-ministerial departments, are staging short walkouts on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.

They are protesting against attacks on jobs and the services they provide to the public, as part of our national campaign.

Ministers still refuse to talk to us and have left us no choice but to step up the pressure with a wave of group action.

Improving people’s lives

The bodies they work for do a range of things to improve everyone’s lives. This includes challenging unfair utility prices, ensuring charities spend donated money as they say they will, reducing inequality, advising people on their rights and freedom of information requests, and holding organisations to account for wasting taxpayers’ money. The government does not recognise the work provided as essential public services, instead ministers see it as ‘red tape’.

The organisations our PSg members work for have had their funding slashed, threatened with closure or their enforcement powers reduced. Our members have had their pay frozen and their terms, conditions and pensions undermined.

Now they’re taking a stand to defend their rights and the public service they provide.

Send solidarity messages to

The action will hit the following areas on:

8 May

Regulation, enforcement and advice:

  • Information Commissioner’s Office
  • Equality and Human Rights Commission
  • Charity Commission (3 branches)
  • National Audit Office
  • Office of Fair Trading
  • Office of Rail Regulation
  • Food Standards Agency
  • Independent Police Complaints Commission
  • Health Service and Parliamentary Ombudsman
  • Security Industry Authority
  • National Police Improvement Agency
  • Office of Immigration Services Commissioner

9 May

Government departments and services

  • Cabinet Office
  • Export Credit Guarantee Department
  • H M Treasury
  • Treasury Solicitors
  • Houses of Parliament
  • Electoral Commission
  • National Savings  and Investments
  • National Archives
  • Independent Living Fund

10 May

Communities, planning and environmental

  • DCLG Core
  • Planning Inspectorate
  • Homes and Communities Agency
  • QE11 Conference Centre
  • Department for Energy and Climate Change


  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office
  • Westminster Foundation for Democracy
  • British Council

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s