GEC elections now open

elections 2017 1Elections for the Revenue & Customs Group Executive Committee, which runs the union in HMRC, open today (27 April) and run until 16 May.

You can read the candidates’ election addresses online now. Please read the addresses to help you decide which candidates would provide the most effective leadership for our union.

The following posts have been elected unopposed:

  • President – Lorna Merry
  • Deputy President – Hector Wesley
  • Deputy Group Secretary – John Davidson
  • Group Treasurer – Hamish Drummond

Members are entitled to the following votes:

  • Assistant Group Secretaries – 8 votes.
  • Ordinary member seats – 19 votes.

How to vote

All members for whom we have a personal email address will receive a ballot paper by email, these  will start to go out on Thursday and the mailing will be complete by Friday. The email will be sent directly from independent scrutineers the Electoral Reform Society (ERS).

For members who do not have an email address registered they will receive a ballot paper to their registered postal address. Members can request a postal ballot if they choose to.

They can do this after the ballot opens, and should email their group office /pcs-where-i-work with their request. The email should include their membership number and clearly state that they have received details for online voting but choose to vote by post.

If you require a replacement ballot paper for either the online or postal ballot you should request a replacement from your group office by Friday, 5 May. Please have your membership or National Insurance number handy.

Branch recommendations

Take up your democratic right to vote in these elections. It’s your union, have your say in who runs it.

At the AGM in February, members voted to nominate the following candidates. The Branch recommends that you consider giving them your vote. Our branch organiser Phil Dickens is now also standing for Assistant Group Secretary and the Branch Executive Committee would ask you to consider giving your support to him as well.

Lorna Merry (elected unopposed)

Vice President
Hector Wesley (elected unopposed)

Assistant Group Secretaries
Phil Dickens, John Smith, Colette Smith

GEC ordinary members
Laura Bee, Tracy Boyce, Phil Dickens, Mark Emmerson, Alan Runswick, Bobby Young


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s