The Branch Executive Committee

The Branch Executive Committee (BEC), elected before the Annual General Meeting each year, is the primary PCS body within the branch which, among other things:

  • represents members in personal cases and negotiations with local management,
  • promotes PCS campaigns,
  • acts as a link between members in the branch and the union nationally,
  • co-ordinates PCS activities in the branch

There are several officer positions (PCS site) on the BEC (Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary,  Organiser & Treasurer) with different roles and responsibilities but, in practice, the lines get blurred and we all chip in to get things done.

Branch Officers

Chair: John Virtue

Vice Chair: Bernadette Parkes

Secretary: Phil Millar

Assistant SecretaryMatt Harvey

Organiser: Phil Dickens

Assistant Organiser: position vacant

Treasurer: Wendy Johnston

Deputy Treasurer: Dave Gibbons

Training & Education Officer: Brian Allen

Equalities Officer: Helen Sheridan, Nikki Burns

Womens’ Officer: Samantha McGrath

Environmental Health & Safety Officer: Margi Henderson

Young Members Officer: Dec Henry

Health & Safety Co-ordinator: Tony O’Neill

Union Learning Rep Co-ordinator: Suzanne Donaldson

Constituency (office) reps and BEC members

In addition to the Branch Officers there are also office reps, pretty much the same as a shop steward. They represent members primarily in their own business streams (Personal Tax, Local Compliance, Special Investigations etc) for personal cases and negotiations with local management. Each committee of office reps elects lead reps to sit on the BEC alongside the Branch Officers.

Benefits & Credits: Chair – Kris Marsden, Secretary – Matthew Harvey

Reps – Tracy Christian, Clare Kay, Mark Woods

Enforcement & Compliance:

Reps – Peter Connor, Dec Henry, Samantha McGrath, Phil Millar, David Pallett, Gary Watson

ISS Cleaning Staff: Angela Jones

PT Ops: Chair – John Virtue, Secretary – Brian Allen, Vice Chair – Bernadette Parkes

BU1 Lead Rep –  James O’Neill; BU2 lead rep – Mark Cleugh

Reps – Jamie Branford, Nikki Burns, John Byrne, Marcos Calleja, Ian Carruthers, Will Charlton, Mark Cleugh, Simon Connell, Phil Dickens, Joanne Dickinson, Philip Farley, Dave Gibbons, Conor Gillett, Richie Hammond, Margi Henderson, Wendy Johnston, Angharad Moran Y Lasierra, Mary Myatt, Anne-Marie O’Connor, Sharon O’Neill, Tony O’Neill, Helen Sheridan, Peter Smullen, Andrew Stonham, Caroline Tyson, Charlie Wilson, Chris Welsh, Chris Wood

Health & Safety Reps

The functions of trade union safety reps are laid down by the 1977 Safety Representatives and Safety Committees Regulations (SRSC Regs.). The law also gives Health and Safety Reps paid time off to fulfil their duties.

Comben House: Jason Kurs

Litherland House: Charlotte Bull, David Crebbin, Michael Murphy, Bernadette Parkes

The Triad: Brian Allen, Nikki Burns, John Byrne, Brian Cairns, Ian Carruthers, Will Charlton, Dave Cluskey, Phil Dickens, Dave Gibbons, Wendy Johnston, Barry Jones, Victoria Jones, Dave Lindsay, Justine Lloyd, Tony ONeill, John Virtue, Charlie Wilson

Union Learning Reps (ULRs)

ULRs are trained union members who promote learning in the workplace.

Like the Health & Safety Reps, legislation gives Learning Reps a statutory right to time off to undertake training and to carry out their duties.

Comben House: position vacant, please contact any other ULR in the branch for assistance.

Litherland House: Rachel Dale, Nicholas Tanner

The Triad: Ian Carruthers, Haley Caruana, Sue Donaldson, Christine Donnelly, Justine Lloyd, Rosetta Luca, Christopher McGeoch, Peter Smullen